Looking Back and Moving Forward

We were driving through the cornfields of Indiana. My wife and I were on our way to Newport, Rhode Island to start what has been quite a journey. It was 1984 and I was a newly commissioned officer in the United States Navy. We were on our way to a training assignment where I would learn much about being a leader as well as the technical aspects of naval warfare. My lovely wife was expecting our first son and was by my side all the way. My beloved Chicago Cubs were surprisingly good and made the postseason for the first time since 1945 only to lose a heartbreaking game 5 of the playoffs. Our son was born at the Naval Hospital a few months later and before long we were off to my first operational assignment, the USS Comte De Grasse. Since then, we have added 2 more sons to the family. We transitioned to civilian life and jumped into a Lean Journey by taking the first of many leadership roles in manufacturing plants with Frito-Lay then Lipton, Nestle and other companies. My great family followed me to 13 cities in 9 states all as part of this journey. A quarter century later I find myself very thankful for my wife who is also a great mother and our parents for the sacrifices they have made. I am also thankful for a glorious God by whose grace we have been able to watch our boys become fine young men. The young men in our family are building the foundations for their journeys. One is working on his master’s thesis, another is finishing his engineering degree, and the third is heading into a senior year of high school. As for the Cubs, they have made the playoffs several more times. They have been within just a few outs of the World Series yet they continue to disappoint their faithful fans in the post season. The drive to Rhode Island was over in just two days but the journey continues today. I hope to use this space to give back by sharing some of life’s lessons as a thank you to my family, friends, and mentors who have helped me both personally and professionally along the way.

About Christian Paulsen

Christian Paulsen is an Executive Consultant with 20 years of Lean Manufacturing. Chris adds value to organizations by driving process improvement and bottom line savings. Chris intends to help others by sharing the lessons learned after a quarter century of operational leadership, marriage, parenting, and even longer as a Cubs fan. Your comments on this blog are welcome. You can also connect with Chris via LinnkedIn, Twitter, and Facebook in the right sidebar. Chris welcomes your comments. Christian's professional services are available by contacting him through LinkedIn (right side bar)
This entry was posted in Family, General and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Looking Back and Moving Forward

  1. Dan Rockwell says:

    Christian,

    I wish you the best as you embark about your blogging experience. I look forward to learning from you.

    Cheers,

    Leadership Freak
    Dan Rockwell

  2. Have a great journey blogging. I was particularly interested in the journey through Indiana my stomping ground. I began a similar journey in 1984 with my husband. I have been reflecting on our life together and all of the blessings we have had. I will enjoy watching your blogging journey as it unfolds.

  3. Thanks, Julia. 1984 was a good year!

  4. Mina Joshi says:

    Christian

    I have read your blogs on change and change management which are interesting and informative but I love this article the best. I like the way you describe your journey of life and the pride you have in your family and friends. I would love to follow your blog and learn from your experience too.

  5. Thanigaivel says:

    It is exciting to know that you stayed in nine states & thirteen cities. Hope Cubs reach more post season games. Nice to know your journey.

    • Thank you! Your feedback is appreciated. Thanks for the sentiment for the Cubs too. I think they will have to rebuild the core of the roster before they can win the World Series. The Cubs had the best team in the National League if not the majors in ’08 and got shut out in the playoffs which really drug them down since then.

      Thanks again,
      Chris

  6. joolsstone says:

    Wonderful sentiments Chris. It sounds like you’ve led a busy and interesting life.
    Thanks again for dropping by to see me.
    Jools

    • Thank you for reading the post and for your feedback. Most of my posts have been about Change Management but I plan to discuss other leadership at work and at home.

      Thanks again,
      Chris

Leave a Reply

